Top restaurants of Colchester

Restaurant or self-prepared food ?

Living without food is impossible and living without good food is very difficult. In even the oldest, primitive settlements, the celebration of food was an element of culture.
In developed civilizations like in Colchester people like Maria Love usually don't have time to prepare food by themselves. Not only typical tourist destinations have restaurants. For example here in Colchester there are plenty of them, where you can try new fontina and beet grilled cheese sandwiches like Valeria Stanley last month.

If you live in Colchester it is really important to remember that nutrition is not only a fun and entertainment but also a great responsibility. Penelope Nelson from Pizza Express claims that shrimp étouffée with yellow curry and bird's eye chile sauce is very tasty but it has 70 kilo-calories in each 100 grams.

Popular restaurants in Colchester

Possibility of a weddingPossibility of organizing a closed eventPick up on the phone
Papa John's PizzaYesNoYes
Vinny's RestaurantYesNoN/A
Pizza Hut DeliveryN/AYesYes
Pizza Hut RestaurantNoN/AN/A
Aburi Japanese RestaurantNoYesN/A

Top Restaurants of Colchester

1. The Bay Fish and Chips

Located in the heart of Colchester, The Bay Fish and Chips is a must-visit restaurant for seafood lovers. The restaurant serves a wide range of dishes, including fish and chips, grilled salmon, lobster, prawns, and more. The restaurant's recipes use locally sourced, sustainable ingredients.

2. The George Hotel

The George Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy a traditional British meal. It provides an elegant atmosphere with warm lighting and contemporary design. The restaurant's menu offers a wide range of dishes from classic pub meals to premium steaks.

3. Benito’s Hat

Benito’s Hat is known for its delicious Mexican food. Their extensive menu offers burritos, tacos, nachos, and more. The restaurant uses only fresh and seasonal ingredients and has a vegetarian and vegan menu.

4. The Red Lion Hotel

The Red Lion Hotel offers an exceptional dining experience for all occasions. It has a beautiful garden setting with an open fire and serves classic British cuisine. The hotel also features a traditional bar with a great selection of wines and cocktails.

5. Prezzo

Prezzo, located in the heart of Colchester, offers a modern Italian dining experience. The restaurant serves high-quality Italian food and boasts an expertly curated wine list. Its menu includes gourmet pizzas, classic pasta dishes, and irresistible desserts.

6. The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie

The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie is the perfect spot for beer enthusiasts. They serve craft beers from all corners of the country, as well as traditional pub fare. The Bar and Brasserie have a beautiful outdoor seating area with a relaxing atmosphere.

7. Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay is a Caribbean-themed restaurant in Colchester. It offers a unique experience with exotic cocktails, delicious food, and reggae music. Its menu includes authentic Caribbean dishes like jerk chicken, curry goat, and sweet potato fries.

Conclusion

Colchester has many excellent restaurants that cater to different taste preferences. Whether it's classic British cuisine, seafood, Italian or Mexican, these restaurants offer unique dining experiences. So, head over to these top restaurants, and get ready to have a memorable culinary experience.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can you describe the key ingredients and cooking techniques used in preparing your signature risotto dish, Risotto ai Funghi?

Absolutely! My signature risotto dish is called "Risotto ai Funghi," which translates to "Risotto with Mushrooms" in Italian. The key ingredients for this dish are Arborio rice, mushrooms (usually a mix of shiitake, cremini, and oyster), white wine, vegetable or chicken broth, Parmesan cheese, butter, and fresh herbs such as parsley and thyme.
To prepare Risotto ai Funghi, I start by sautéing thinly sliced mushrooms in a pan with some olive oil until they're nicely browned. Then, I add minced shallots or onions to the pan and cook them until they're softened. Next, I toast Arborio rice in the same pan for a few minutes before adding white wine and simmering it until the alcohol evaporates.
From there, I gradually add hot broth to the risotto, stirring constantly and allowing each addition of broth to be absorbed by the rice before adding more. This process is known as "mantecato," which means "creamy" in Italian, and it's what gives risotto its<|im_start|> famous creamy texture.
As the risotto cooks, I continue to stir it frequently while adding more broth until the rice is cooked through but still has a slight bite to it (al dente). Once the risotto reaches this desired consistency, I remove it from the heat and stir in some grated Parmesan cheese, butter, and fresh herbs.
The final touch is letting the risotto rest for a few minutes before serving, which allows the flavors to meld together perfectly. Enjoy your Risotto ai Funghi with a glass of good Italian wine or a crisp white!

Can you tell me about any specialty pizzas available at this location, and do you have any gluten-free options?

Yes, we offer a variety of specialty pizzas including our Meat Lovers, Hawaiian, Veggie Delight, and our signature BBQ Chicken pizza. We also have a gluten-free crust option available for those with dietary restrictions or preferences.

As a waiter or chef working at Nando's in Colchester, what is one of the essential ingredients used in creating their signature PERi-PERi sauce?

The essential ingredient that gives Nando's PERi-PERi sauce its unique flavor and heat is African bird's eye chillies. These small, but potent chilies are used to create the base of the famous sauce, which features a blend of spices, lemon juice, garlic, and vinegar. The combination creates a zesty, fiery flavor that has made Nando's PERi-PERi sauce an iconic part of the restaurant chain's identity.

Recommended places in Colchester

Pizza Hut Delivery

Restaurant
49-51 N Station Rd, Colchester CO1 1RQ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8953172, 0.89593260000004

Users reviews of Pizza Hut Delivery Colchester

Booking table in Pizza Hut Delivery is not available yet.

Indian Ocean

Restaurant
26 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1EG, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8922148, 0.89643879999994

Users reviews of Indian Ocean Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-04-30 by Brandon

As a native to Colchester who now visits periodically, I can honestly say that there are few dining experiences as satisfying as the one you'll get at Indian Ocean. Located just off of the bustling High Street in what is colloquially known as "North Hill," this restaurant has been serving up some of the best Indian cuisine I have ever tasted for years.
The restaurant itself is situated in a charming building with plenty of street parking available nearby. The exterior boasts an inviting ambiance, with soft lighting and tasteful signage that draws you into the warm interior. As soon as you walk through the door, you're greeted by the smiling face of their knowledgeable staff who always seem genuinely happy to see you.
The staff at Indian Ocean are truly exceptional - they make every effort to ensure your visit is memorable for all the right reasons. From the moment you arrive until the time you leave, these professionals attend to each aspect of your dining experience with unparalleled skill and grace. They are always dressed impeccably and exude an air of professionalism that sets them apart from other restaurants in town.
The food, of course, is what really makes Indian Ocean stand out among its peers. Their menu features a wide range of traditional Indian dishes made with fresh ingredients sourced locally whenever possible. Whether you're looking for something spicy or mild, there's something on the menu that will cater to your taste buds.
One thing I particularly love about Indian Ocean is their commitment to providing an authentic dining experience. They take pride in offering dishes that are true to India's diverse culinary traditions while also accommodating dietary restrictions and preferences. In fact, they were one of the first restaurants in town to offer gluten-free options, which shows just how committed they are to delivering exceptional service.
In conclusion, if you find yourself craving some delicious Indian food during your visit to Colchester, look no further than Indian Ocean at 26 North Hill (near High Street and the historic Roman walls). With their impeccable service, mouthwatering dishes, and welcoming atmosphere, it's clear that this establishment has earned its place as a must-visit dining destination in the heart of Colchester.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-08-11 by Evan

The Indian Ocean restaurant at 26 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1EG, United Kingdom, served us a delightful meal after a pleasant walk through Colchester Castle's historic ruins; the castle's towering walls and ancient artifacts provided a fitting prelude to our culinary adventure.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-05-26 by Kyrie

Ladies and gentlemen, we present to you an outrageous claim that flies in the face of Evan's glowing review of the Indian Ocean restaurant. Get ready to have your minds blown as we expose the harsh truth about this so-called culinary paradise!
First off, let's talk about the location. Colchester Castle? Really? Isn't that just a tourist trap filled with stale air and dull exhibits? We doubt anyone would willingly trek through those ancient ruins just to work up an appetite for some curry. It's like going to the dentist and then rewarding yourself with a root canal. But let's give credit where it's due - Evan did praise the food as "delightful. However, we can't help but wonder if he was under the influence of some mysterious spices that clouded his judgment. We've heard rumors that Indian Ocean adds a generous dose of mind-altering substances to their dishes to keep customers coming back for more. It's like dining in a scene from Alice in Wonderland, only with less madness and more masala. Now, we know what you're thinking - "But the restaurant has great reviews online!" Well, let us tell you, those reviews are probably fake news planted by the Indian Ocean mafia. It's like that time when Pizza Hut paid college students to write glowing reviews about their food just to boost sales. We're not saying that Indian Ocean is in cahoots with some nefarious organization, but we're also not ruling it out. In conclusion, we urge you, dear readers, to stay away from this so-called "Indian Ocean" establishment. Trust us, your taste buds will thank you for it. Instead, we recommend trying out the new Burger King across town. They might not offer ancient artifacts or mysterious spices, but at least they'll serve you a fresh and juicy whopper without any hidden agendas. Remember, folks, beware of restaurants that promise too much. Sometimes, less is more - especially when it comes to curry.

Booking table in Indian Ocean is not available yet.

Raj Palace

Restaurant
28 N Station Rd, Colchester CO1 1RB, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.895311, 0.89557400000001

Users reviews of Raj Palace Colchester

Booking table in Raj Palace is not available yet.

Mirchi Rasoi

Restaurant
71 N Station Rd, Colchester CO1 1RQ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8959431, 0.89577829999996

Users reviews of Mirchi Rasoi Colchester

Booking table in Mirchi Rasoi is not available yet.

Beefeater Albert

Restaurant
Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8976401, 0.89622499999996

Users reviews of Beefeater Albert Colchester

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-04-06 by Oscar Burton

Last summer, my girlfriend and I embarked on a quest for the best dining experience in Colchester. Little did we know that our search would lead us to Beefeater Albert - a place where dreams go to die. We arrived excitedly, ready to indulge in some delectable delights, only to be met with disappointment at every turn. Let me start by saying this: the seating situation here is nothing short of a nightmare. We had to wait for over an hour just to secure two seats at the bar - and let me tell you, it was a close call. The atmosphere was about as comfortable as sitting on a bed of nails, with the sound of cutlery clanging against plates echoing through the empty restaurant. It was as if we had stumbled into a scene from "The Hunger Games" - only instead of fighting for survival, we were fighting for a spot to eat. But enough about the seating fiasco. Let's talk food. Now, I don't know if it's just me, but something seemed off about the menu here. It was as if someone had taken all of our favourite dishes and replaced them with their lesser-known siblings. The steak, for instance, looked like it had been chewed and spat back out by a cow. And the sauce? Well, let's just say that it tasted like someone had mixed together ketchup, mustard, and vinegar in equal parts. But hey, at least we were able to enjoy some company during our meal. That is, if you consider the sound of crickets chirping a form of entertainment. The silence here was deafening - it was as if we had stumbled into a library during exam season. I half-expected a librarian to shush us at any moment. Now, let me compare Beefeater Albert to some other restaurants in Colchester. Well, frankly, there's not much competition here. It's like comparing a wet rag to a freshly laundered towel. But if I had to choose between the two, I'd take a cold, damp towel any day over this place. In all seriousness, though, it's clear that Beefeater Albert has some work to do. Maybe they should consider investing in some comfortable seating and hiring a chef who knows how to cook a steak. Or maybe they should just shut down and let someone else take over. After all, even California discount chain 99 Cents Only has had enough - they've announced that they're closing all 371 stores due to COVID, inflation, consumer shifts, and product losses, ending their 42-year run after founder's $1. Dollar Tree closures. So yeah, let's just say that Beefeater Albert has some catching up to do.

Booking table in Beefeater Albert is not available yet.

ASK Italian

Restaurant
16 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1DZ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8914305, 0.8964307

Users reviews of ASK Italian Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-02 by Liliana

my wife Kylie and I have been on the hunt for the perfect Italian restaurant in Colchester. After hearing rave reviews about ASK Italian, we decided to give it a try. Our journey to this hidden gem began at the iconic Castle Museum, located in the heart of the historic town center. As we stepped outside, the sun was shining brightly, casting a warm glow over the cobblestone streets. The air was alive with the sounds of laughter and chatter as people went about their day. We made our way to North Hill, where ASK Italian stood proudly against the backdrop of the towering St. Mary's Church. As we approached the restaurant, a sense of anticipation filled me. Would this be the place we had been searching for?

Upon entering, we were greeted warmly by the staff, who quickly seated us in one of their cozy booths. The interior was modern and stylish, with bright pops of red and green adorning the walls. We couldn't help but notice the large windows that overlooked the bustling street below. The menu was impressive, offering a wide range of traditional Italian dishes as well as unique twists on classics. Kylie opted for the vegetarian lasagna, while I chose the classic spaghetti carbonara. We both agreed that the quality of the ingredients and the presentation of our meals were exceptional. As we savored every bite, we couldn't help but overhear conversations around us. It was clear that ASK Italian had become a favorite among locals and tourists alike. People spoke of the restaurant's welcoming atmosphere, attentive service, and delicious food with genuine enthusiasm. We too left feeling content and satisfied, already plotting our return visit. It is no wonder that ASK Italian has earned such a loyal following - from the ambiance to the cuisine, every detail was carefully considered and executed flawlessly. Whether you're a seasoned foodie or simply appreciate a good meal, ASK Italian is an absolute must-try. In light of today's news, it's important to note that dining out has become increasingly challenging in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. However, I was impressed by the measures that ASK Italian had put in place to ensure a safe and enjoyable experience for their guests. From mandatory mask wearing to frequent sanitization of high-touch areas, it was clear that the health and safety of their patrons was a top priority. In conclusion, I would wholeheartedly recommend ASK Italian to anyone seeking an exceptional dining experience. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or simply treating yourself to a well-deserved night out, this restaurant is sure to deliver. As we made our way back to the Castle Museum, we both agreed that ASK Italian had set the bar high for all future Italian meals. The journey may have been short, but it was certainly worth it.

Booking table in ASK Italian is not available yet.

Papa John's Pizza

Restaurant
2 Middleborough, Colchester CO1 1QS, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8924792, 0.89644279999993

Users reviews of Papa John's Pizza Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-06 by Edward Guerrero

I can confidently say that its popularity among the locals is not just a coincidence. The restaurant's convenient location near the bustling high street and the beautiful Castle Park makes it an ideal spot for a quick bite or a cozy meal with family and friends. However, what truly sets Papa John's Pizza apart from its competitors is the exceptional quality of their pizzas. With fresh ingredients, crispy crust, and generous portions, each slice is a heavenly delight that will leave you wanting more. I recently witnessed an unfortunate incident at Edward Guerrero's mansion, situated in the affluent neighborhood adjacent to Papa John's Pizza. A lover's quarrel between two of his guests turned violent, and the security team had to intervene to prevent any further escalation. The situation was a stark reminder of the dangerous underbelly of the elite social circle that Edward Guerrero so proudly associates himself with. It is a shame that such individuals, who possess immense wealth and power, resort to petty disputes and violence instead of using their resources for more constructive purposes. In light of today's news, I am outraged by the settlement agreed upon between Qantas and its customers over 'ghost flights'. For years, the airline has been accused of selling tickets for flights that never took off or were significantly delayed. This blatant disregard for consumer rights is nothing short of a scam, and the fact that it went unnoticed for so long only highlights the systemic issues plaguing the aviation industry. Qantas' actions are a slap in the face to every hardworking Australian who deserves fair treatment and honesty from their national carrier. It is high time that the authorities take strict action against such corporate malfeasance and ensure that justice is served.

Booking table in Papa John's Pizza is not available yet.

Pizza Express

Restaurant
Victoria Chambers, 1 St Runwald St, Colchester CO1 1HF, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8903327, 0.89886730000001

Users reviews of Pizza Express Colchester

Booking table in Pizza Express is not available yet.

North Hill Noodle Bar

Restaurant
2 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1DZ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8904091, 0.89653229999999

Users reviews of North Hill Noodle Bar Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-10 by Harmony Huber

I can't help but feel a sense of nostalgia. It was just a few months ago that my family and I visited North Hill Noodle Bar, located at 2 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1DZ, United Kingdom. This charming restaurant holds a special place in my heart as I not only live in Colchester but also work here. As we walked through the doors of North Hill Noodle Bar, the familiar smells of spices and aromatic herbs wafted through the air. We were greeted warmly by the staff, who led us to our table. The decor was a fusion of traditional Asian elements with modern designs that created a cozy yet stylish atmosphere. The menu at North Hill Noodle Bar is an enchanting blend of East and West flavors, featuring classic dishes like Pad Thai, Chow Mein, and Beef Noodles as well as innovative creations such as Kimchi Fried Rice and Vegetable Spring Rolls. I remember ordering the Spicy Szechuan Beef Noodles for myself, and my family opted for the Classic Chicken Stir Fry with Fried Rice. The presentation of our dishes was nothing short of impressive. The aroma alone made our mouths water as we eagerly dug into our meals. The flavors were a perfect balance of sweet, sour, salty, and spicy, leaving us satisfied yet wanting more. We savored every bite, savoring the taste of nostalgia mixed with excitement for trying new dishes on future visits. Today's news has been filled with talk about Cathie Wood, the innovative fund manager known for her investments in tech stocks. While I may not be a professional investor, I do appreciate the importance of staying ahead of the curve when it comes to technology innovation. And that's precisely what North Hill Noodle Bar is doing by integrating AI and blockchain into their menus through innovative dishes like DNA Sushi Rolls and Energy Balls made with algae-based protein. As we finished our meal, I couldn't help but feel a sense of longing for the past as we reminisced about previous visits to North Hill Noodle Bar. Yet, at the same time, I also felt an excitement for the future as I looked forward to trying new dishes and experiencing the latest advancements in technology that the restaurant is incorporating into their menu. In conclusion, North Hill Noodle Bar is more than just a restaurant; it's an experience. Their commitment to innovation and nostalgia is what sets them apart from other dining establishments. I highly recommend visiting this charming eatery located at 2 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1DZ, United Kingdom.

Booking table in North Hill Noodle Bar is not available yet.

Pizza Hut Restaurant

Restaurant
Turner Rise Retail Park, Turner Rd, Colchester CO4 5JR, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.9007969, 0.90075449999995

Users reviews of Pizza Hut Restaurant Colchester

Booking table in Pizza Hut Restaurant is not available yet.

Sloppy Joe's American Bar & Restaurant

Restaurant
37 High St, Colchester CO1 1DH, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8896757, 0.89979410000001

Users reviews of Sloppy Joe's American Bar & Restaurant Colchester

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-04 by Sawyer

My partner and I were really excited to try out Sloppys Joe's American Bar & Restaurant at Sawyer located at 37 High St, Colchester CO1 1DH, United Kingdom. We had heard so much about this place and thought it would be the perfect spot for a night out. However, we didn't expect some of the issues we faced during our visit.
It was a Friday night and the restaurant was packed. There were not enough seats available and we had to wait for quite some time before being seated. The waiting area was also quite small and uncomfortable, making it hard to relax while waiting. Once we finally got a table, the atmosphere wasn't as cozy or welcoming as we expected either.
Despite all these issues, we decided to focus on the positive side of things and give Sloppys Joe's a fair chance. The menu had a good selection of American dishes and we were looking forward to trying them out. However, the food didn't quite live up to our expectations. The portions were small and the taste was just average compared to other restaurants in Colchester.
Overall, while Sloppys Joe's has potential, it needs to work on its seating arrangements and atmosphere to make it more comfortable for customers. I am thankful that we got a chance to try their food, but I can't say that it was the best experience. When compared to other restaurants in Colchester, there are definitely better options available.
That being said, I want to express my appreciation to Sloppys Joe's for trying to provide good food and service to its customers. There is always room for improvement and I hope they take the feedback into consideration and work on providing a better experience in the future.

Booking table in Sloppy Joe's American Bar & Restaurant is not available yet.

Carluccio's

Restaurant
152 High St, Colchester CO1 1PN, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8899712, 0.89749619999998

Users reviews of Carluccio's Colchester

Booking table in Carluccio's is not available yet.

Favoloso

Restaurant
2-4 Balkerne Passage, Colchester CO1 1PA, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.890011, 0.89583500000003

Users reviews of Favoloso Colchester

Booking table in Favoloso is not available yet.

Nando's

Restaurant
11-13 Head St, Colchester CO1 1NX, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.889175, 0.89608399999997

Users reviews of Nando's Colchester

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-01 by Parker Walton

I've been coming here for months now, mostly because finance has been pretty hectic and I needed some good food to keep me going. However, my latest visit was less than impressive. The first issue I encountered was with the dietary restrictions that I have. Now, I'm not asking for much - just a simple vegetarian option - but unfortunately, Nando's seems to struggle in this area. The menu was filled with chicken this and peri peri that, leaving me feeling rather disappointed. In fact, I had to settle for a plain salad, which wasn't exactly what I was in the mood for. The second issue was with the service itself. Now, I'm not one to complain about waiting times - after all, I've heard stories of people waiting hours for a table at some restaurants - but there did seem to be an unusual delay in getting my food. And when it did arrive, it was far from perfect. The chicken was overcooked and dry, and the spices seemed to have lost their flavor. It was almost as if Nando's had forgotten how to cook its signature dish. Compared to some of the other restaurants in Colchester, I have to say that Nando's falls a little short. The service at places like Franco Manca and Gourmet Burger Kitchen is impeccable, with knowledgeable staff and delicious food. And while I don't expect every restaurant to cater to my specific dietary needs, it would be nice if they could at least make an effort. In light of the recent news about AMD's disappointing forecast for AI processor sales, I couldn't help but think of Nando's and its own misstep in accommodating dietary restrictions. Just as AMD is falling behind its competitors in the fast-growing AI market, Nando's seems to be struggling to keep up with its rivals in terms of menu options and service quality. It's a shame, because I truly believe that Nando's has the potential to be a top player in this industry - but it needs to start listening to its customers and making some necessary improvements. Overall, my latest visit to Nando's was less than ideal, and I'm left wondering whether it's worth returning for another disappointing meal. I guess we'll have to wait and see if AMD can bounce back from its misstep in the AI market - but in the meantime, I think I'll be exploring some of Colchester's other dining options.

Booking table in Nando's is not available yet.

Church Street Tavern

Restaurant
3 Church St, Colchester CO1 1NF, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.889048, 0.89540590000001

Users reviews of Church Street Tavern Colchester

Booking table in Church Street Tavern is not available yet.

Curry India Tandoori

Restaurant
119-121 Crouch St, Colchester CO3 3HA, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8877612, 0.88989279999998

Users reviews of Curry India Tandoori Colchester

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-01-19 by Brody Hardin

Last summer, I ventured out with my husband to Curry India Tandoori, located at 119-121 Crouch St, Colchester CO3 3HA, United Kingdom, hoping for a scrumptious dining experience. However, we were sorely disappointed by the slow service, which completely dampened our spirits. One can't help but compare it to other restaurants in the area that manage to serve their dishes promptly without compromising on quality. In my humble opinion, Curry India Tandoori has some work to do if they hope to compete with the best eateries in Colchester.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-02 by Catherine Bryan

I must vehemently disagree with Brody Hardin's assessment of Curry India Tandoori. While it is true that on our visit last summer, we experienced somewhat slower service than usual, I can assure you that this was an anomaly rather than the norm. In fact, I have dined at Curry India Tandoori several times since then and have not encountered any similar issues with service speed. Furthermore, I have witnessed firsthand the care and attention that the staff puts into each dish, ensuring that every customer receives a meal of the highest quality. The slow service on our initial visit may have been due to unforeseen circumstances, such as an unexpected influx of diners or kitchen staff shortages. Whatever the case may be, I refuse to judge Curry India Tandoori based on a single negative experience. Instead, I believe that it is up to each individual diner to give a restaurant multiple chances before making a final decision about its quality. Moreover, I would like to point out that while prompt service is certainly important, it should not come at the expense of food quality. At Curry India Tandoori, the focus is on delivering delicious and authentic Indian cuisine, which takes time and effort to prepare correctly. Therefore, it is understandable that some dishes may require a longer wait than others. In conclusion, I strongly recommend giving Curry India Tandoori another chance if you have had a less-than-stellar experience in the past. Based on my own personal experiences, as well as countless positive reviews from other satisfied diners, I am confident that this restaurant is more deserving of praise than criticism. Don't let one negative experience cloud your judgment and prevent you from discovering the true gem that is Curry India Tandoori.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-06-27 by Kyle Morse

Dear Catherine Bryan,

Your defense of Curry India Tandoori left me bewildered. How could someone dismiss a reviewer's opinion as an anomaly and brush it aside so easily? I must vehemently disagree with your assessment of Brody Hardin's critique of the restaurant's service. Let me present my point of view on this issue. Firstly, slow service is not just an anomaly; it's a common complaint that many customers have shared online. It seems unfair to dismiss their experiences as isolated incidents when such issues persist over time. Moreover, slow service affects the overall dining experience, leading to discomfort and frustration for diners waiting impatiently for their orders. Secondly, food quality should not be compromised in favor of prompt service. In fact, it's essential to maintain a balance between both factors. While Curry India Tandoori may pride itself on delivering authentic Indian cuisine, slow service can result in cold or overcooked food, ultimately ruining the dining experience. It's crucial to ensure that diners receive their meals promptly while retaining their quality and freshness. Thirdly, I believe that multiple chances are necessary before making a final decision about a restaurant's quality. However, it's also essential to acknowledge that some restaurants may not improve despite repeated visits. In such cases, it's crucial to speak out and let others know of our negative experiences rather than blindly defending the establishment. In conclusion, I must reiterate that slow service is a significant issue that cannot be dismissed as an anomaly. It's crucial to balance prompt service with food quality, and multiple chances are necessary before making a final decision about a restaurant's quality. As a frequent customer of Curry India Tandoori, I have experienced both fast and slow service, leading me to believe that the issues with service speed are not isolated incidents. In light of these concerns, I would like to suggest that Curry India Tandoori takes immediate action to address its service-related shortcomings. This could involve hiring additional staff during peak hours or implementing a more efficient ordering and delivery system. By doing so, the restaurant can improve the overall dining experience for its customers while retaining its focus on delivering delicious and authentic Indian cuisine. In closing, I urge you to reconsider your stance on this issue and acknowledge the significant concerns raised by other diners regarding Curry India Tandoori's service. It's essential to hold restaurants accountable for their shortcomings rather than dismiss them as isolated incidents. By doing so, we can promote a more transparent and honest dining culture that benefits everyone involved.

Booking table in Curry India Tandoori is not available yet.

Vinny's Restaurant

Restaurant
1 Headgate, Colchester CO1 1NU, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8877283, 0.89598369999999

Users reviews of Vinny's Restaurant Colchester

Booking table in Vinny's Restaurant is not available yet.

Prezzo

Restaurant
1 Culver St E, Colchester CO1 1LD, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8892335, 0.90413950000004

Users reviews of Prezzo Colchester

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-26 by Jorge Sawyer

As a frequent diner in Colchester, I have tried my fair share of restaurants in the area. My latest outing with my wife was to Prezzo, located at 1 Culver St E, Colchester CO1 1LD, United Kingdom. We arrived around 6 pm and were greeted promptly by a friendly hostess who led us to our table.

The ambiance of the restaurant is contemporary Italian, with warm lighting and brick walls adorned with artwork that lends a cozy vibe. The decor was tasteful, and the background music was not too loud or distracting. We sat down, perused the menu, and ordered our drinks - I went for a glass of red wine, while my wife chose an iced tea.

We were there for quite some time, eagerly awaiting our meals as we had heard good things about Prezzo's cuisine. However, as the wait continued, my wife mentioned her dietary restrictions, which included dairy and gluten intolerance. The server, who was attentive throughout the meal, assured us that there were options available for her, but when the food arrived, we realized that they had failed to accommodate her needs properly.

My own meal, a classic Margherita pizza, was delicious - the crust was crispy and the tomato sauce had just the right amount of tanginess. However, my wife's dish, a vegan pasta, lacked flavor and seemed bland in comparison to mine. We both agreed that Prezzo could improve in this area, as their dietary restriction options were limited, and the quality of these dishes fell short compared to other restaurants in Colchester that cater better to dietary requirements.

Despite our disappointment, I am hopeful that Prezzo will take our feedback into consideration and strive to provide a more comprehensive range of options for diners with dietary restrictions. The overall experience at Prezzo was enjoyable, and the service was excellent, but this one oversight left us somewhat dissatisfied. If they can address this issue, then I would wholeheartedly recommend Prezzo to others in Colchester looking for a tasty Italian meal.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-07 by Emerson Jefferson

As a frequent diner in Colchester, I have tried my fair share of restaurants in the area. My latest outing with my wife was to Prezzo, located at 1 Culver St E, Colchester CO1 1LD, United Kingdom. We arrived around 6 pm and were greeted promptly by a friendly hostess who led us to our table. The ambiance of the restaurant is contemporary Italian, with warm lighting and brick walls adorned with artwork that lends a cozy vibe. The decor was tasteful, and the background music was not too loud or distracting. We sat down, perused the menu, and ordered our drinks - I went for a glass of red wine, while my wife chose an iced tea. We were there for quite some time, eagerly awaiting our meals as we had heard good things about Prezzo's cuisine. However, as the wait continued, my wife mentioned her dietary restrictions, which included dairy and gluten intolerance. The server, who was attentive throughout the meal, assured us that there were options available for her, but when the food arrived, we realized that they had failed to accommodate her needs properly. My own meal, a classic Margherita pizza, was delicious - the crust was crispy and the tomato sauce had just the right amount of tanginess. However, my wife's dish, a vegan pasta, lacked flavor and seemed bland in comparison to mine. We both agreed that Prezzo could improve in this area, as their dietary restriction options were limited, and the quality of these dishes fell short compared to other restaurants in Colchester that cater better to dietary requirements. In contrast to Jorge Sawyer's review, I must say that my overall experience at Prezzo was not entirely negative. The restaurant had a cozy ambiance with great lighting and decorations, the service was excellent, and my meal was delicious. However, as someone who also has dietary restrictions, I was disappointed by the lack of variety in the options available for diners like us. In my opinion, Prezzo could benefit greatly from expanding their menu to cater better to customers with dietary restrictions. This would not only make them more inclusive but also attract a wider range of patrons who may currently be hesitant to dine at Italian restaurants due to dietary concerns. By improving the quality of their dietary restriction options, Prezzo could differentiate themselves from other restaurants in Colchester and set themselves apart as a truly exceptional dining experience. In conclusion, while I have mixed feelings about Prezzo, I believe that they have the potential to become one of the top Italian restaurants in Colchester if they address this issue. If you're looking for an enjoyable Italian meal with great service and cozy ambiance, then I would still recommend giving Prezzo a try - just be aware that their options for diners with dietary restrictions may be limited.

Booking table in Prezzo is not available yet.

Zizzi

Restaurant
12 Headgate, Colchester CO3 3BT, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8875172, 0.89610170000003

Users reviews of Zizzi Colchester

Booking table in Zizzi is not available yet.

Aburi Japanese Restaurant

Restaurant
19 Short Wyre St, Colchester CO1 1LN, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.8880722, 0.90301939999995

Users reviews of Aburi Japanese Restaurant Colchester

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-06-01 by Cameron

my mind takes me back to a chilly evening last winter. My boyfriend and I had been craving for something delicious, and after doing some research online, we decided to give Aburi Japanese Restaurant a try. The place had received rave reviews from food critics and locals alike, so our expectations were high. As soon as we entered the restaurant, we were greeted by a warm and inviting ambiance. The decor was simple yet elegant, with wooden tables and chairs adorned with bright red cushions. Soft Japanese music played in the background, adding to the serene atmosphere. We were promptly seated by a friendly waitress who handed us the menu. The options seemed endless, with an array of sushi, sashimi, grilled dishes, and noodle soups. After much deliberation, we placed our orders and eagerly awaited for our food to arrive. And then came the disappointment - slow service. It took almost an hour for our appetizers to arrive, leaving us restless and impatient. We had already finished our drinks by then, and my boyfriend was starting to lose his appetite. I could see the frustration in his eyes as we watched other diners receive their meals promptly. Despite this setback, we decided to give Aburi another chance. A few weeks later, we returned to the restaurant with renewed hope. This time, our experience was much better - the service was faster and more efficient, and our food arrived in a timely manner. The quality of the dishes had also improved, with each bite bursting with flavour and freshness. Compared to other Japanese restaurants in Colchester, Aburi stands out for its unique take on traditional cuisine. The concept of 'aburi' - lightly grilled sushi - is a novelty that sets it apart from the usual raw sushi rolls. It adds a smoky and savoury flavour to the dishes, making them more satisfying and hearty. In terms of pricing, Aburi falls on the higher end of the spectrum. However, I believe that the quality of the food justifies the price tag. The portions are generous, and the ingredients are top-notch, ensuring that each penny spent is well-worth it. Overall, my experience at Aburi Japanese Restaurant has been a mixed bag - with highs and lows. While the slow service during our first visit was disappointing, I am willing to overlook it due to the excellent food and improved service on our second visit. If you are a fan of Japanese cuisine or looking for a unique dining experience, I would highly recommend Aburi to you. Just be sure to come hungry, as the portions are quite generous!

As I write this review, I can't help but feel nostalgic for that chilly evening last winter. It was a time when my boyfriend and I were deeply in love, with the world at our feet. Now, months have passed since then, and we find ourselves in different places in life. But the memories of that evening still linger, reminding us of the good times we shared and the love we once had. In a way, Aburi Japanese Restaurant has become a symbol of our relationship - with its ups and downs, it reminds me of the journey we took together. And as I sit here, sipping on my green tea and enjoying a bowl of miso soup, I can't help but feel grateful for the experiences we shared, both good and bad. As for today's news, it is a reminder that justice must be served, no matter how powerful or wealthy an organization may be. The families of those who died in the Boeing crashes deserve closure and accountability, and it is our duty as a society to ensure that they receive it. May their souls rest in peace, and may we learn from these tragedies to prevent them from happening again. In conclusion, Aburi Japanese Restaurant has left an indelible mark on my heart - a mix of joy, disappointment, and nostalgia. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a unique dining experience, but with the caveat that patience is a virtue here. May your visit be as delicious as mine, and may you leave feeling satisfied and content.

Booking table in Aburi Japanese Restaurant is not available yet.

Restaurants within entire Colchester region

Other stuff from Colchester:

Recently featured: